Books

I truly believe that there is hope for all children.  Unfortunately, when a child is being bullied, the furthest thing from their mind is hope.  All they feel is the worthlessness that is being thrust upon them. 

I am working to compile a list of books for children who are being bullied.  I think it is important that they read hopeful things.  While the children in some of these books are being bullied, they work to better their situation through strategy and intelligence.   One of these books is Misfits by James Howe.  I think this book is a great example of what can happen when children who are bullied ban together and take a stand against those who are targeting them.

There is also a plethora of books that are for adults to read that can be helpful when a child is going through a tough bullying situation.  One of the books is Queen Bees and Wannabees.  I do not have girls, but work with this age level.  This books does a fantastic job of helping parents to explain and deal with girl drama that is so pervasive in our society.  Even though this is written with females in mind, I believe that some of advice given is also applicable to boys as well.

I have one last book to recommend for now.  The Bully, the Bullied, and the Bystander.  This books does a phenomenal job of walking through the different roles of each person in the title.  It also gives some ways to watch for potential bullying in your child in any of the roles and ways to help them cope.

I will continue to add titles to the list of possible reading.  I am also including the list with a link to the book on Amazon on the right-hand side of the page.  Of course, you don’t need to order from Amazon.  You can find these in many different bookstores as well as e-books. 

If you have any titles that have been helpful, please feel free to let me know and I would be happy to put them on the list.

About Kim

I am a mom of 2 boys, one who went through a tough bullying situation at a young age. I watch the news and realize we are fortunate to have a happy ending to our story. I want to reach out to other parents and help them to navigate through this wearing time in their life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books

  1. Thanks for these book titles, Kim. I also highly recommend the book Little Girls Can Be Mean — about the bully who is a friend.

    http://imaginationsoup.net/2011/04/the-best-friend-and-worst-enemy-bully/

Leave a Reply

